Runes With Doge

Standard

Jotunvillur code

Today I bring you two articles from the world of linguistics. First is code breaking with runes, and the second, well the second is nothing less than the grammar of doge laid bare.

Runes are of moderate to low interest to me in general, sorry rune scholars, so when Mez posted the link to me I was not much more excited than perhaps a Meh+ but when I read that the fragment above holds the key to Viking text messaging (effectively) I had to admit that tiny twinkle of interest flared up into a massive OOH LEMME SEE THIS!

So, here it is a whole article about how what might have appeared to be mysterious and quite possibly boring old timey writing turns out to have been a code, and a playful one at that, which lets us in to the humorous and sweet world of the kissing and showboating Vikings.

***

Secondly, though I read it first, such is the wonders of the internet, and my friend, the academic Theresa Senft, who keeps up with such things as a matter of professional interest, here is an entire article on the grammar of Doge.

Not this Doge…

My favourite bit of the article, after she explains how Doge works, and how it even works if you strip out the Comic Sans and the Doge himself, is a collaborative quote from tumblr.

What light. So breaks. Such east. Very sun. Wow, Juliet.
What Romeo. Such why. Very rose. Still rose.
Very balcony. Such climb.
Much love. So Propose. Wow, marriage.
Very Tybalt. Much stab. What do?
Such exile. Very Mantua. Much sad.
So, priest? Much sleeping. Wow, tomb.
Such poison. What dagger. Very dead. Wow, end.

2 thoughts on “Runes With Doge

  1. I am not 100% why, but doge-speak makes me giggle like a loon. This article was brilliant. I love linguists. I think I love them even more because they can spend their days analyzing awesome things like doge-speak. This totally made my day.

    • The great thing is that these sort of things seem to spring up in an inevitable and timely way. Were we ready for doge before doge? Maybe we needed lolcatz first?

      Also, it reminds me of the fad for Japanese mistranslation, and all the cut and shut languages, Spanglish and so on. Years ago, I used to get Punch magazine, where there was a column in Franglais. Something that would seem inevitable now, but which was novel at the time.

Leave a Reply

